Choose and manage locations

Add your locations in
Apple Business

When you create an ad group, you’ll choose the locations that you want to promote. These are your business locations that you added when you set up your organization in Apple Business. If you haven’t already added and verified your locations in Apple Business, you’ll need to do that before you can add locations to an ad group. Learn how to add locations in Apple Business.

After you’ve added them in Apple Business, you can view and filter your locations in Apple Ads. From any dashboard, select Location Groups in the left navigation menu, then click the Locations tab.

Access the Location Groups page

When you create an ad group, you have the choice to promote all of your eligible locations, or to create location groups. Location groups are groups of locations that you would like to promote together. You can create these groups and manage them on the Location Groups page. To get there, select Location Groups from the left navigation menu on any dashboard, and click the Manage Location Groups tab.

Manage location groups

Within the Manage Location Groups tab, you can:

  • Create a new location group by clicking the Create Location Group button.
  • Edit a location group by selecting it and clicking Edit in the toolbar. You can edit the added locations and the location group type.
  • Remove a location group by selecting it and clicking Remove in the toolbar. You can view your removed location groups by clicking View in the toolbar, then selecting Removed.
  • Duplicate a location group by selecting it and clicking the Duplicate button. Enter a new name and choose a campaign group to duplicate it into. The location group type and rules will be copied by default, but you can edit them after duplication is complete. Note that you can’t change the promoted brand.
  • View location group details including the location group type, the brand it’s promoting, the number of locations added to the group, and the usage details. The usage details show which ad groups use the location group.
  • Filter your location groups by status, location group type, and brand.

Location group
status meanings

  • Eligible: All locations within the location group are eligible to serve ads on all ad placements.
  • Rejected: Every location within the location group is not eligible to serve ads on any ad placement.
  • Pending: Location group has one or more locations that are in review.
  • Limited: Location group has one or more locations that are not serving on at least one ad placement.
  • Deleted: Location group has been removed.

How to create a
location group

  1. Select Location Groups in the left navigation menu.
  2. Click the Manage Location Groups tab.
  3. Click the Create Location Group button.
  4. Enter the brand that you want to promote.
  5. Enter a name for this location group.
  6. Choose to create either a Dynamic Location Group or a Static Location Group. A Dynamic Location Group organizes locations by geographical area and automatically updates with new locations that you add in Apple Business based on the rules you set.* A Static Location Group is a list of locations that you manually add or remove. As you include or exclude locations, they’ll appear on the right side of the page.
    • If you chose Dynamic Location Group, choose whether to include or exclude locations available in geographic areas by city, postal code, state, or province. You can add to the list by searching for specific location addresses. You can also include temporarily closed locations.
    • If you chose Static Location Group, select specific locations manually or add them in bulk.
  7. Click Save.

How to edit a
location group

Select Location Groups in the left navigation menu, and click the Manage Location Groups tab. Select a location group and click Edit in the toolbar. You have the option to edit locations added to a group, dynamic location group rules, and the type of location group. If you change the location group type, your location selections may reset.

If you edit a location group that’s being used in an active ad, we recommend that you save your changes as a new location group. This is to avoid interfering with your active ad. If you want to use the new location group in the active ad, go to your Ads dashboard and edit the ad to use this new group.